Testimonials & Class Reviews

Joy Hengst reviewed TexSun YogaSchool - MelanieComegys - 5 star May 26, 2016


Melanie is an incredible teacher and person. I've taken group and private yoga classes from her and each one was more amazing than the last. She takes time to delve into poses, and will help you build and work towards more complicated. Her instruction is always clear and she's great at offering modifications. Additionally, if you ever get a chance to attend one of her animal spirit guide workshops: DO IT! I've also received Reiki from Melanie, it was excellent and definitely left me feeling more aligned and grounded. Finally, I've also had Melanie read angel cards for me and gotten a chakra reading - both of these were insightful, informative, fun, and helpful!

To sum it all up - you will essentially become a better human being for knowing and working with Melanie Comegys!


Guille King reviewed TexSun YogaSchool - MelanieComegys - 5 star May 11, 2016


She is a great instructor. Very detailed oriented. Worth taking her class.


Mei Niu  reviewed TexSun YogaSchool - MelanieComegys - 5 star May 11, 2016 


Melanie is a great teacher. She is very knowledgeable and detailed, caring instructor. I have always look forward to her classes and have been going to her class for two years. I love her sequences, her poses, her pace, her voices, and her music.... Most important is that I feel refaced and peaceful every time after attending her class. She is one of the best yoga instructor in town.

 

 Julie Moose Fowler reviewed TexSun YogaSchool - MelanieComegys - 5 star May 10, 2016


I was lucky enough to take Melanie's class here at our local gym in Pearland. The class was open to all levels and Melanie did a miraculous job of keeping everyone engaged. She would begin class by asking about pregnancies and injuries, which I very much appreciated because I have limited range of motion due to osteo arthritis. She would take a basic pose that may be challenging for someone like me and she would give cues to the more seasoned yogis so that she could address the variety of students. Practicing in a gym setting can also be very distracting and Melanie always came to class armed with patience a sense of humor ready to do battle with any disruptive gym patrons. She is also very approachable and down to earth, which in my experience is not the case with all yoga teachers. I give Melanie 5 stars or the energy of 5,000 chatarangas or whatever the highest rating is for a yoga teacher!


Courtney Azizeh reviewed TexSun YogaSchool - MelanieComegys - 5 star May 9, 2016

 

I attended the Beginners Workshop and Melanie was great!! Informative on the history of Yoga, speaking clearly and in terms I could understand, Melanie showed passion for the adventure I was about to begin. Her instructing was precise and movements very clear, making it easy for me to follow. She answered every question thoroughly and made sure I understood the answers. I am so looking forward to attending a second Beginners Workshop.


 Lauren Power reviewed TexSun YogaSchool - MelanieComegys - 5 star May 9, 2016 


Great teacher! Very knowledgeable about her practice and gives excellent guided meditations!!


Morgan O'Neil reviewed TexSun YogaSchool - MelanieComegys - 5 star May 4, 2016 


Melanie was my very first yoga teacher. Learning the basics from her has served my well my entire practice. Her classes are challenging, but accessible for any level of yogi. Her approach to her own practice and education ensures her students growth as well as her own. She's the real deal, and one of my favorite people.

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class August 9th 2015

 

 "So just as a point of fact, if anyone is wanting to get started in Yoga and they feel intimidated in any way on Saturdays and Sundays, Melanie Comegys teaches a FABULOUS "Back to Basics" class. Ask my friend- it was tons of fun!!!"

Top of Form

Friend of the above student: That class was really great. I've been to a few yoga classes with a few different teachers so that basically makes me a reliable unbiased source feed back.

I like how the class had a goal (we are going to open up the front) and how the poses were directed to accomplish that goal. I liked how she encouraged us to practice personal discernment but there were options to take something a bit further if we wanted. And I liked that even though I was new to her class I understood what she wanted us to do for each pose.


Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class July 20th 2015

 

"A lovely morning opening-up with Melanie Comegys. She strings together different series and styles of sun salutations into her sequence, and gives lots of modifications. Melanie's calm, mellifluous voice and steady, rhythmic pace helps embed an aura of quiet joy in the movements. Melanie is excellent at the art of giving verbal cues. I must emphasize, having taken several of her classes prior to this one, that her cuing is superb; this girl really doesn't miss a beat. I tend to practice with my eyes closed and in Melanie's classes I always feel as if I'm practicing inside a spacious, beautiful Swiss watch."

 

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class Sun, Feb 9, 2014

 

 "I attended the Beginners Workshop on Saturday, February 8th. Melanie was great!! Informative on the history of Yoga, speaking clearly and in terms I could understand, Melanie showed passion for the adventure I was about to begin. Her instructing was precise and movements very clear, making it easy for me to follow. She answered every question thoroughly and made sure I understood the answers. I am so looking forward to attending a second Beginners Workshop."

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class Jan 2014 Google Review

 

It's nice that each teacher runs things differently, everyone's style for Basics or Mix Levels varies so even if you go to a Basics class every day, it will be different each time. Melanie Comegys = Inspirational, I've practiced yoga off and on for 4 years and this is the first time I've committed to a monthly membership, that's how much I love Joy Yoga! An update, I attended two classes with Melanie Comegys at the Voss location last night. It's a great spot, beautiful and clean studio. I really loved Melanie's classes. And there's plenty of parking and classes are not at all crowded. If it were closer to home for me I would def go there more often!

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class Sat, Dec 7, 2013

 

1. What did you enjoy about the workshop?

 Paced for beginners!  I loved having a basic overview of all different aspects of yoga not just the exercises and stretches.

 

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class Sat, Dec 7, 2013

 

Hi there!

I am glad I got this email.  

It was the first workshop Ive signed up for, but I have to say I loved it.

Melanie taught me so much about the background and things that are the basics that people wouldn't think have anything to do with the practice.  I loved the workshop. I will definitely take another.

 

1. What did you enjoy about the workshop?

 I enjoyed that the workshop was really a basics class that had a good set up.  There was never a dull moment.

2. What are some of your takeaways?

For me, its really a great thing to start at the basics, Ive only been practicing about 4 months, and she helped alot with the alignment, and tips on how to make sure I am doing my assanas correctly.

3. What could we do better in the future?

I think the class was great.

4. What, if any, other workshops would you like to see on our schedule?

I would definitely take a continuation of the basics with Melanie.  

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class October 15, 2013 Google Review

 

Not more I can say that hasn't already been stated in previous reviews. Joy Yoga is a wonderful setting: clean and calming, the staff is friendly and helpful, two studios give more calss options to accommodate your schedule. In recent months I have taken a few basics classes with the instructor Melanie Comegys. Her teaching methods are relaxed and focused, making sure that students have correct posture alignment, and that the flow from one pose to the next is organic with your own body's physical range. If you're looking for a solid, all inclusive mind and body experience then I highly recommend her class. No matter where you are in your practice, from beginners to even the most experienced of yogis, you will benefit. Thank you, Joy Yoga, keep up the good work!

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class October 14, 2013 Yelp Review

 

I haven't been to a yoga class in awhile. Not that I don't love yoga because I do but I just haven't had as much time as a new mommy.  I saw the Groupon for an unlimited month of yoga at Joy Yoga and jumped at the opportunity to try a place out at a discount price. Plus it is close to my house which is a bonus. I have only been to the one class but I was impressed.  I was able to follow along even after not doing yoga for awhile. Melanie was a great instructor who was easy to follow and very approachable. She may have taken it easy on us at it was just me and one other girl but I still felt like it was more advanced than basics but not too difficult. I also really like the studio. The view of downtown is beautiful especially when you have the early morning class. I would suggest checking it out. I only gave 4 stars since it was my first class but I will be checking out a few more and I have a feeling I will be changing it to 5. I think I found my new yoga studio!

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class October 12, 2013Yelp Review

 

I loved the class! My hips felt like a million bucks all weekend! My sister and I both enjoyed it. I'm a newbie to yoga - just started going to a few classes here recently because its about the only thing I look forward to doing after working all day. I attended Melanie’s class and we focused on hip openers and today I feel great! Yoga is energizing - unlike other exercises that just zap out all your energy and make your body hurt. I am loving it! Hope to see you again soon at Joy Yoga!

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class October 8, 2013 Google Review

 

I went to my very first yoga class at Joy Yoga earlier this week and let me tell you, the staff was superb, the place was clean and I thought Melanie the instructor was amazing. Definitely going back and would recommend this place to anyone!

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class October 8, 2013 Google Review

 

I took a beginner's workshop with instructor Melanie Comegys - She was insightful and very clear. We went over several different poses at length, spending a good amount of time on each, as well as breathing and meditation. This was a great mind/body experience - Thanks Melanie!

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class October 8, 2013 Google Review

 

I took classes with Melanie Comegys and she is an awesome teacher. I am beginner to advanced beginner. Melanie offers the perfect combination of meditation, postures and relaxation in her class. She is very thoughtful and will make sure that you are executing the pose properly without being overwhelming. Keep up the good work Melanie, it is always a pleasure to go to your classes.

  

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class April 9, 2013

 

-"Thank you. I really enjoyed it. It was really peaceful. Just what I needed."

-"Thank you. That was really great. I understand it now. When you told us to press the tops of our feet into the floor I could feel the support in my lower back and it really helped. The instructions really helped me to unserstand how I needed to be in the pose. Thank you for that."

-"Thank you. That was a really great class."(This couple then bought a subscription to more classes)

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class April 142013

 

"Thank you that was really good. I like the instructions, it made sense."

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class April 19, 2013

 

"That was great. I like that it was slower paced. It helped me take time with each position. We all need to slow down, and it was a big help to me. I've been coming here for four years and I liked the slower pace."

 

Prenatal Student Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class April 19, 2013

"Thank you for  coming to me before class to explain what I need to do. Nobody ever explained to me what to do instead of being on my stomach." (told her wide legged balasana instead of Nagarajasana/bhujanghasana/Urdhva Svanasana)

 

Student review Melanie Comegys Yoga Class April 20 , 2013

 

"Thank you. I really needed that stretch. It was really good. I feel really good."

"oh, that was exactly what I needed! It felt so good."

"That was a good stretch. My body was sore and I need that stretching. If they offer this type of class more I'd sign up to take more classes."